1985 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am, now with 0.7 more liters

As a foreword, please try to bare with my terrible formatting; for I’m not good at essays.

CHAPTER 1: MULLET ON WHEELS

This is my '85 Trans Am, it has a 5.0 chevy small block V8 with bad rings breathing through the dreaded electronic quadrajet 4bbl carburetor. The engine is mated to a 700r4 4-speed auto which in turn is mated to an 'Strayan 9-bolt 3.08 LSD rear end.

At the end of, it probably only has 120 rwhp which gets it to 60 in 9 seconds. :thinking:

Painted tire lettering, just like a true ricer

I’m the third owner and the second owner to drive it more than 500 miles. It is numbers matching for now and was completely stock when I bought it. So far I’ve done pretty much just maintainance and restoration stuff, other than installing a magnaflow catback and adding keyless entry. I’m planning on dropping a 350 in this fall as well as headers, although the E4ME carb is staying because I like it and it was also used on factory 350 cars.

If you look carefully, you can see the engine block from the under the hood.

As stated previously, the engine is a 305cui, 5.0L small block v8 with hydraulic flat tappets.

From the factory it made 165hp@4200 and 240lb/ft@2400. It’s mainly choked by the exhaust manifolds and small exhaust diameter, hence the catback currently and headers in the future.

In the present, however, it makes more like 140hp due to bad rings and carbon buildup. Thankfully it doesn’t burn much oil, or at least not enough to make the exhaust blue. It also has a spark-knock problem while under heavy load, but I’ve ruled out everything I can think of other than carbon buildup so I just whacked the idle mixture up and and retarded the timing to limit damage for now.

Mileage falls somewhere between abysmal and ignorance is bliss.

Radtastic 80’s interior, devoid of useful storage