First track - looking for feedback!

Heya all track builders! In my spare time this winter break I decided to learn how to build tracks for Automation. This is my first attempt and I’m looking for some constructive criticism and feedback.

One thing in particular I’m not too happy about is how the car breaks suddenly on the corners that tighten (see red circles below). It is just unrealistically abrupt. How do I get around this and make corners that progressively get tighter and retain a realistic feel of the car? Do I just make more and progressively tighter segments to smooth it out?

Here are the actual segments:

Cake1.zip (916.8 KB)

Thanks all for any and all feedback/critique! :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Got to say, your first track is looking awesome. It looks like it has a bit of everything; shades of Shanghai in the first and last complexes, a bit of Silverstone in there too, and what looks like the silhouette of Laguna Seca in the top right.

There doesn’t seem to be any elevation change though, and it’s an unusually short run at 3.1km, but that’s compared to tracks that host Formula 1 races (before 2020 anyway, looking at you Bahrain outer track), so unless that is your aim I think it should be fine the length it is.

In regards to the unusual lines the AI takes, I think I’ve got an idea.

I looked at your track in TrackEdit, and your diagram of the position of the oddities line up with the divider lines that define each segment. This leads me to believe that the track AI calculates the ideal path for each segment as opposed to the track as a whole, leading to sub-optimal performance as a whole on tracks with variable-radius corners. You may need to subdivide those problem corners into more detailed segments to iron out the AI’s behaviour when faced with non-fixed radius corners. I’m not an expert though, so take that with a pinch of salt.

1 Like

Thanks for the kind words!