Fixtures

Automation is making leaps and bounds in its development and I find that I am enjoying trying to make my cars look good (even if I’m not good at cosmetics). One of the features I wish Automation had is a copy function for individual fixtures. Another game I play, SimplePlanes, has a feature in its designer where after you spend time creating a part and sizing it and shaping it, if you want to make a direct copy of that custom part, you just right click on it and drag and it will make an exact duplicate of that part with all of its properties and allow you to place it.

This, I think, would be a wonderful addition to Automation. After I shape and size a fixture and go through it picking all the colors of it, sometimes I want to make another and I find that getting it exactly the same is a PITA.

Another feature in SimplePlanes that would be nice to see in Automation (however it may be more difficult) is sub-assemblies. In SimplePlanes you can create a group of custom parts and then drag those parts to a side menu to save them in that configuration, then later you can drag that sub-assembly out to use it on other models that you may be making.

This would be wonderful in Automation especially for people that want to create a certain image for their company cars with grills, logos, headlights, taillights and all the other fixtures.

Anyway, I don’t know if any of this would be possible but I can hope!

2 Likes

Shift + click and drag. Or was it ctrl + click and drag. Don’t recall at the moment.

It’s Shift+Drag.

3 Likes

Figures, a hidden feature I wasn’t aware of. Well, that takes care of one of my 2 problems. Perhaps a small side menu listing the controls would be helpful then.

1 Like

Would be great to be able to save and copy fixtures to new cars though. And to be able to group fixtures together and move them as one (and maybe save those for new cars as well).

4 Likes