Random thoughts about Euro/North American cars

I was reading an article about how PSA Groupe is going to open a HQ in Atlanta, GA (I realize many on these forums are from outside the USA), quite possibly to bring Opel into the North American Market. That brought to mind, I remember GM sold Opel last year, but I was not aware that it was to Peugeot, nor was I aware that Vauxhal was part of the deal. And it hit me; if GM sold both Opel and Vauxhal, what presence do they have in Europe? The answer, of course, is that they do not; and the leadership of General Motors are okay with that.

This is concerning to me, not that I’m ever get to work in Europe, because General Motors is my employer. I studied marketing in college, so it perplexes me that leadership is so passe about leaving an entire continent un-catered to. That is not to say that GM and PSA are not still working together on various technologies, as the articles I read stated they still would, but outside of a couple hundred specialty vehicles targeted at enthusiasts, never will a GM be sold in Europe, again.

Part of the reason they give for withdrawing from the European Market is that the dynamic of the auto industry, besides being highly regulated, is shifting away from ownership, and towards ride sharing platforms. Outside of Uber, I’m afraid I do not understand how this works. Perhaps someone could explain. Are European people not buying cars, instead opting to subscribe to vehicle fleets (as Volvo proposed), or am I completely wrong.

2 Likes