Transmission designer

First, let me introduce myself. I am a professional mechanic specializing in drive lines who apparently can’t get enough car stuff. I realize that transmissions are a complicated topic. I understand most people are perfectly fine with the two sliders provided, and don’t know or care what a final drive is. Here are some suggestions for the overly technical minded people who would enjoy this feature. I think it would be wise to maintain a radio button for “simple mode.”

I would like to describe, hopefully in brief, a transmission designer.

Case material (like block/head):
This will apply to both automatics (auto) and manual transmissions (man). You would have four options:
Cast steel - cheapest and lowest manufacturing cost. Strong but heavy.
Milled steel - more expensive to make, but faster to mass produce. A bit lighter, and stronger.
Cast aluminum - relatively cheap to make, light and strong enough for most applications.
Milled aluminum - quiet expensive, but very light and strong.

Cast steel could handle high Torque (TQ), but low RPM. Milled steel can do the same TQ, but higher input speeds. Aluminum would handle less TQ but higher RPM and cools better. Milled aluminum is back to near steel TQ numbers, but still much lighter.

Just some for instance numbers, the cast steel Eaton ES-(series) can hold over 1000 Ft/Lbs, the milled aluminum GM/Ford 6R140 can handle around 800 Ft/Lbs. Do remember these are commercial transmissions selected for being the extremes.

Gear material (like piston/con rod):
Cast steel - cheap but rough. Low(ish) torque, low speed only (4000?).
Machined steel - costs more, but way stronger and higher speeds.
Lightweight steel - TQ between cast and machined, much higher RPM.
Treated steel - Very expensive, very strong.