1985 "Oh God What have I done" sorry, Sinclair C5

I’ll try and keep this relatively short for now as it’s late and I have no pics, and I’m knackered, and I’ve got some Cheese and Bacon pasties due out of the oven in er, 7 minutes.

I’m sure by now most of the forum has seen the picture of me from 4 years ago that could have been taken in the mid to late 80s, action hair and all:

Well, that there C5 belonged to one of my mates and I’d helped him get it going after we rescued it from a garage covered in bird cack, but he sold it shortly afterwards much to my disappointment. I had wanted to buy it, but I was a poor student.

Roll forward 4 years and that same event is looking for a Sinclair C5. I was moderately famous among friends and acquaintances for it, and I’d had a hankering for one since then. I started having a look around on eBay but prices have gone up massively, what his sold for would now get you a total wreck in need of full restoration.

I was looking at unrelated things on a local selling page and almost as if a sign from the Jesus appeared, there was one there. Looked a bit dirty and missing a few bits, but it was there. The asking price was very high, but I thought I’d look out of curiosity anyway.

I’ve gone on a bit here, so er, CONTINUED AFTER PASTY BREAK.

Right pasties were pretty spot on - Greggs Cheese and Bacon wraps for anyone interested.

Anyway, went for a look at it and the bits missing in the pictures were actually there, as there were about £100 worth of replacement wheel covers I was quite happy. It’s been stood in a garage for 20+ years, has loads of dust on it and the tyres are completely flat and shot. Electrics are all there, but no idea of working condition, and the original wiring has been modified to take a car battery.