A community challenge for a somewhat new player

Hello, I am fairly new to the game (been playing since July this year), and would like to get into a challenge from the community challenges section on the forum. I’d say I have a good understanding of engineering cars, but making them look good isn’t my strong point.

Most challenges either seem to be focused on looks, or have pages of rules. Would anyone know something I can comfortably get into?

1 Like

QFC. I might sound biased since I host the current round, but generally I think it is one of the better challenges to get into for beginners, if you don’t like the current round, just jump into the next one. Usually not that thick of a rulebook, and with a short timespan, nobody really has time for tons and tons of detailing, meaning that a simplistic but fresh looking beginners build might have a better chance than in, let’s say CSR. Also, it is a good way of quickly stepping up the game, I guess, since the challenge is fast paced and you can do many rounds in a short amount of time.

But don’t forget, it is not a disaster if you get a bad grade on looks in a challenge, learning by doing I say.

7 Likes

Hey, welcome to the Automation community, we’re so glad you’re here!

We have a handfull of non-official recurring challenges. From hardest/most in-depth to easiest it is roughly TMCC/AGC, ARM, CSR, CSC, CW, and then QFC/ARB.

The Giants:
TMCC (the movie car challenge) and AGC (Automation game challenge) are generally the most challenging and also have the most range in difficulty, going from “main character needs a crapbox” to “fully 3d cyberpunk” ARM (Automation restomod) has a range of difficulty but is a lot more consistently hard than TMCC and AGC though never with the peaks of crazy, and is very new and quite popular. CSR (car shopping rounds) is our oldest recurring challenge, and is very prestigious and rather legendary. It is a good place to test your limits as a designer even if you are new.