Could use help tuning my 280ZX

Hello Everyone!

So I am a huge Datsun 280ZX enthusiast in real life (I own a 1981 2-seater hardtop) and I have been working (off and on) for a couple years on a replica of the car in-game. I’m pretty happy with the looks and the engine, but I could really use some help with tuning the car itself for driving in BeamNG.

The following are screenshots of the car setup as of this morning.

Ain’t she beautiful? (I know I’m bias)

Transmission Setup - these cars were more of GT (grand touring) cars in real life, more for cruising than turning corners, but that’s not to say they are bad in the turns.

Tires - My real life car is setup with 15-in steel rims (factory size is 14-in) and 205/60R15 ‘performance’ tires.

Brakes - What you see here for brake calipers and rotor diameters is actually correct for the real car. From the factory they come equipped with disc brakes in all 4 corners with the fronts being ~250mm rotors and 1 piston calipers and the rears being ~270mm calipers and 1 piston calipers. The game definitely does not like this setup and I know that newer cars (basically almost anything built after my car) has the larger diameter rotor up front, but this is how the 280ZX was built and sold. I have done a lot of playing with pad type and brake bias but the car still wants to spin the back end around under heavy braking.

Traction Aids - It’s 1981, there are no driving aids here! The car does have hydraulic rack and pinion power steering though.

Suspension - The real cars are a McPherson strut front suspension with trailing arm independent rear suspension. Passive (solid bar) sway bars, standard springs and gas mono-tube dampers. One thing I have done to my real car is upgrade all of the suspension bushings to polyurethane from the factory rubber style, so the suspension is a bit stiffer.