Life and a Daily Commuter [Breakdown Story Time]

So I took out a small car loan to get a decent ride for my new job back in the middle of July.

And now i’m finally posting it

2014 Hyundai Elantra
6 speed manual
37mpgs highway
(41ish on my normal commute)
44,000 miles currently

I needed a newer car that I could depend on because my new job, which is actually in the field that I studied in college (yes I graduated, yay me, yay student loans)
But it’s over 50 miles one way from my parents’ house (between an hour and an hour ten minutes away)

So of course fuel economy was quite important, as was comfort. And after about a month of driving it, I am still liking my newer red car. I havn’t named her yet, as I havn’t had any good name ideas yet.

(And yeah, i still browse the forums from time to time but now i have much less time i could spend.)

16 Likes

Hot damn, sedan and manual! Not much of these around anymore, so take good care of it and enjoy it :smiley:

1 Like

It’s great to see that you, @findRED19, finally found red :wink:

3 Likes

Love me some Elantras… nice pick!

1 Like

If any other nickname for it fails, you could always call her Elanor… And this one won’t run out of fuel on you as it did to Nic Cage!

Joking aside, European markets don’t really feature Elantras (not mine at least). Closest thing size-wise would be the i30 sedan. So I don’t know much about them, although modern Hyundais are more reliable than ever.

Here’s hoping she is a capable helper for your new worker life! :grinning:

1 Like

Decent cars. Pretty solid fuel economy too. That 41 is close to what a friend of mine gets in his 2006 Prius (46 or so).

1 Like

Life Update:

Some of you have heard rumors… Lemme set them straight:

I got engaged to my girlfriend on December 22 :smile: :blush:

The ring as seen on her hand.

Car Update:

I’m currently at about 53,000 Miles! I put on over 10,000 Miles since I bought it!
…And she has a name now:
Ellie