Things that the game doesn't tell you - Part 1: Service Costs

Hello! As said on the tin, this is a series of quick guides that tell you whether the design choices you made in your car make any unforeseen side effects at all, since I saw that some people have been struggling with certain aspects of their car during the design stage. Now, since I’m not good with words, let’s get right to the topic at hand.

Part 1: Service Costs

Ever wondered why when you have tried to make a “budget” CSR car, equipped with all the “reasonably cheap” parts, only for it to end up getting binned by the judge for having $1000++ service costs? If you answered yes, then this list is for you.

I’ll be trying to update the list to the latest meta, but so far these are the things that I have found. Anything else that is not specified in the list does not affect the service costs (unless I’m proven wrong, in which case please point it out).

Chassis:

• Car body type (the larger the car, the more expensive)
  • Engine layout (from cheapest to most expensive: Front longitudinal -> Front transverse -> Rear longitudinal -> Mid transverse -> Mid longitudinal)

Engine:

• Engine configuration (from cheapest to most expensive: Inline -> V (bank angle does not have effect) -> Boxer)
  • Number of cylinders
  • Head type (for some reason, DOHC is cheaper to maintain than SOHC by a few cents)
  • Valve count
  • Engine size/displacement
  • Engine fill factor (as the in-game warning says, there is extra multiplier added to the service costs if your engine is filling up the engine bay past a certain treshold)
  • Turbo
  • Fuel system
  • Configuration (only on multiple carb setup)
  • Intake type
  • Fuel system quality (by a few dollars)

Trim:

• Drive type (from cheapest to most expensive: 2WD -> 4x4 -> AWD)
  • Gearbox type (from cheapest to most expensive: Manual -> Sequential -> Auto / Adv. Auto / DCT)
  • Top speed limit (affects tire speed rating; only available if engine has fuel injection)