Awards Ceremonies

If this suggestion already exists then I apologise in advance.

Media events, particularly awards ceremonies such as Car of the Year can have a significant effect on popularity. Categories such as safest car, most economical, etc, etc, can make or break a vehicle. As a former car salesman I still remember walking into the dealership one morning to find my sales manager with his head in his hands because the company’s new model had been savaged on Top Gear.
My suggestion is that, in addition to an annual awards ceremony with multiple categories, how about a event generator where your car endures a particularly good or bad review in a newspaper, car magazine, or TV programme, resulting in an appropriate impact on sales.

Was it the last model Vectra? That was funny if you weren’t trying to sell the things

Interesting idea btw, can’t remember if was suggested elsewhere though

[quote=“maffc”]Was it the last model Vectra? That was funny if you weren’t trying to sell the things

Interesting idea btw, can’t remember if was suggested elsewhere though[/quote]

Nah, it was the Peugeot 1007. Looking back, it probably deserved it, it was a horrible looking thing full of gimmicks no-one needed or wanted.

Ew. I have to agree, power assisted sliding doors on a city car , what were they smoking? My thought on that car were not PC

I liked what they did in Gearcity with the car review magazine, though it would have been much funnier if written by the Automation community and full of Automation memes. :laughing:

I really think something of the sort should be considered, or atleast the framework to implement it and let the community go nuts with it :stuck_out_tongue:

[quote=“Drake”]I liked what they did in Gearcity with the car review magazine, though it would have been much funnier if written by the Automation community and full of Automation memes. :laughing: