Trouble Making Chevy BigBlock L78

Hey all, I’m new to the game, although Ive spent a while now designing a few engines/cars. Im trying to replicate the Chevy Big Block L78 (396 cubic inch, 6,484 cc) engine in the Chevelle and other late 60’s model muscle cars.

this engine had a peak output of 375hp and 415lbft of torque, 11.0:1 compression, with a single 4 barrel carb, revved to 6,000 rpm and got around 9-11mpg. It had an aluminum head and light weight forged pistons, conrods and crank. It was a pretty advanced engine for the time.

I can’t get real close to these values in game, and I’m wondering if anyone was able to get any closer than I have gotten?

Ive gotten around 355hp and 370lbft of torque, but the torque curve is way too late, the engine won’t rev near 6,000rpm, and i have to use double carbs plus oversized exhaust to get there. On top of that I only get about 6mpg.

I can post maybe a pic or two of the engine stats, but I’m curious if im just not optimizing it well, or if its just a limitation in the game?

From my own personal experience, OHV engines are not modeled as accurately as they should be overall.

1 Like

Massive number of slider abuse (quality) on the cylinder head/cam tab.

3 Likes

I think that may get me there on peak hp, but the torque will still be way low and 2500rpm late and it will get like 5mpg. Like abg7 stated, there must be something off with the pushrod engines, or there is just some adjustability missing when it comes to valve size, engine knock and carb tuning.

OHVs are fine, its just that companies like Chevy have had a lot of time to invest in OHVs. In the campaign, it will be the same if you stick to using OHV for a long time. In sandbox however, the only solution is to put the quality up.

Most important thing - SAE Gross vs SAE Net